How to Find Articles
- Already have a citation? Go to the A to Z of Online Journal Titles, under "Find Articles."
- Looking for articles on a topic? There are two ways to search:
Each option has advantages and disadvantages.
(A) Quick Search:
Quick Search allows you to search across multiple databases simultaneously, and can be a good place to start. However, searching in "Quick Search" also tends to be less precise, or results can be too large. For helpful tips on how to get the best results with Quick Search, see the library's "Quick Search Guide"
(B) Find Articles:
In many cases, searching individual databases such as PsycINFO, ERIC or ProQuest Central can provide a better search experience and more relevant results, particularly for in-depth research.
Why? Because there are more search options, tools, and subject specific limiters that enable you to refine your search more effectively than it's possible with the "Quick Search" tool.
Not sure which database to search? ProQuest Central is a good place to start as it covers a broad number of subject areas. See "ProQuest Search Tips" for our TOP 5 suggestions on how to save time and get better results using ProQuest databases.
To see a list of recommended databases for your subject, see the following guides:
If you have any questions, cannot find the resources you need, or would like an in-depth research consultation, please contact the campus librarian, Fay Kallista at 312-777-7651 or e-mail email@example.com
Print Journal Holdings
Set Google Scholar to link to full text articles in the Argosy University Online Library:
1) Sign into the Campus Common
2) Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com to set preferences:
- Select Settings
- Choose Library Links
- Search for Argosy University
- Select Argosy University – Find it at Argosy
3) Search Google Scholar.
Articles that are available full text in the Online Library have the "Find it at Argosy" link:
4) Click the "Find it at Argosy" link to access the full text article.
If you encounter a login screen, enter the Google Scholar username and password (available in the library if you do not have it)
Keep in mind that there are some advantages and disadvantages to using Google Scholar.
- It can help a beginning researcher identify journal titles and authors connected with subjects of interest.
- It may be useful for finding "gray literature" like conference proceedings.
- It includes many articles that wouldn't get included in other indexing services.
- It can be useful for locating obscure references that are may be difficult to find in conventional databases.
- It can be very helpful in locating more information on partial citations.
- With a Google Scholar search you cannot:
- search by peer review
- sort/search by disciplinary field
- browse by title
- limit search results
- There's no easy way to download or email search results into a bibliographic manager (like RefWorks).
- Although the "Find it at Argosy" feature helps you link to full text articles in the library, it's an imperfect tool. Therefore, you may not necessarily see all the full-text resources available to you through the library.
- The breadth of what Google Scholar is indexing is unclear and consequently it's difficult to judge the comprehensiveness or completeness of the results of a literature search.
- It's not clear how frequently items in Google Scholar are updated.
- Searching in Google Scholar is imprecise when compared with discipline-specific databases.
Chicago Campus -Only Databases
While the majority of databases are available through the student portal online library, the resources listed below, such as PEP are only accessible here, through the Argosy University, Chicago. Each requires a seperate password. Please call the library at 312-777-7651 for logins.
- Academic Search Premier
- Health Source/ Nursing Academic Edition
- Military & Government Collection
- Newspaper Source
- Professional Development Collection
- ArticleFirst: (full text)
- MEDLINE: Abstracted articles from medical journals (partially full text)
- PapersFirst: An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
- Proceedings: An index of conference publications
Spans a period of 120 years. Includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud and the full text of eighteen premier journals in psychoanalysis (current three years are not available full-text)
Databases in the Online Library
ABI/INFORM Complete - A comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. Offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. International coverage provides complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
cals with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics.
Academic Search Elite - An EBSCOhost database indexing over 2,900 publications, including scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural studies,as well as popular magazines published from 1990-present. Full-text articles are provided for over 1,300 periodical titles.
Arts and Humanities Full-Text - 500 titles featuring both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Related fields also covered by these indexes include ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies.
Business Source Elite - Provides fulltext for nearly 930 journals covering business, management, economics, finance and related topics.
Chronicle of Higher Education - Online version of the print resource. In addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education, which are not archived.
Credo Reference - Online reference library, providing access to the full text of over 516 quality reference titles on every major subject from more than 80 publishers. Credo’s collection contains dictionaries, bilinguals, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Criminal Justice Periodicals - Includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
CultureGrams - Leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. Individual reports covering 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian Provinces, are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated several times each year.
Education Journals - Provides access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Covers literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.
eLibrary Academic - Collection of periodical and digital media content. Researchers use the powerful, yet easy-to-use search interface to find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts--plus thousands of maps, images, web links, and audio/video titles.
Entrepreneurship - Full-text articles covering entrepreneurial topics and subject areas - from business to technology, to medical and beyond. Also, includes videos and templates.
ERIC - , the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents.
GreenFILE - An EBSCOhost database offering well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Health & Medical Complete with Medline Connections - Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,530 publications with over 1,270 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing. Journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Hoover’s Academic - Search more than 65 million public and private companies worldwide or find out about over 85 million people--with information from the company's history to the CEO's salary. Also reference more than 700 industry records with industry description, SIC, NAICS, and links to related Web resources.
Literature Online - Fully esarchable library of more than 357,250 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
MEDLINE - Contains over 6 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; and continuing education.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print - An EBSCOhost database, Mental Measurements Yearbook indexes over 2000 standardized tests complete with references and test reviews. Also included in the database, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Mergent - Provides access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies. Coverage includes: history, business description, properties, subsidiaries, officers, directors, long-term debt, Moody's rating, capital stock, income statement, balance sheet, statements of cash flow, auditors, exchange and ticker symbol, number of employees, and more.
Military Collection - Includes over 545 titles, with more than 400 available in full text, on topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
OxResearch - This database provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. Articles are compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world.
ProQuest Central - The largest aggregated resource on the market with over 11,000 titles, 30,000 dissertations, 350 newspaper titles and broad global coverage. Includes collections in banking, pharmaceuticals, education, computing, religion, criminal justice, military and current affairs. Best place to start.
PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO - American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including (but not limited to): anthropology, business, education, law, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, and sociology. Included is PyscARTICLES, a definitive source of over 137,000 full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly 575 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Sage Premier - Electronic access to 550+ peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 264,000+ articles, with content dating back to 1999 in the social sciences, business, humanities, and science, technology, and medicine disciplines.
ScienceDirect - Includes articles and books from Elsevier publications and articles from society publications for which Elsevier provides online access. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and covers business, humanities, medicine, the sciences and social sciences.
SIRS Issues Researcher - Offers full-text article selections from more than 1,600 sources—exploring social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
SIRS Renaissance - Provides full-text articles from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts.
Snapshot Series - Includes over 8,890 market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. It is a unique source for market research data, offering worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.
SPORTDiscus - An EBSCOhost database, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus, as far back as 1985.
Westlaw Campus Research - Contains news, business and law-related information sources and provides access to 4,300 news sources including newspapers, trade, business and professional publications, newswires, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications and company information. The legal databases include federal and state case law, statutes and administrative rules and regulations as well as law reviews and journals.